Date: 11/29/2017 12:00:00 AM

Title: Cattle producers complete Young Cattlemen’s Leadership Program

AMES, IOWA – Twenty-seven young Iowa cattle producers from around the state participated in the 2017 Young Cattlemen’s Leadership Program (YCLP). The Iowa Cattlemen’s Association program consists of a series of five educational sessions designed to develop leadership qualities in young cattle farmers. The group focused on leadership strategies, policy development, production practices and legislative advocacy.

The YCLP class also helps develop and employ the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association’s Carcass Challenge. We commend this year’s YCLP class for their recruitment efforts. Earlier this fall, 75 head of feeder steers were delivered to Kennedy Cattle Company. The proceeds from the Carcass Challenge will be used to fund educational programming, leadership development, and advocacy training for cattle producers.

The program graduates will be honored at the Iowa Cattle Industry Leadership Summit on December 7 and 8 in Ames. All producers are invited to attend and learn more about the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association and opportunities for involvement. More information about the event and the Young Cattlemen’s Leadership Program can be found at

2017 Young Cattlemen’s Leadership Program graduates include:

Darrin Axline, Cedar County
Patrick Bries, Dubuque County
Holly Bries, Dubuque County
Allison Brown, Wayne County
David Bruene, Story County
Molly Bruene, Story County
Wesley Christensen, Clay County
Adam Darrington, Pottawattamie County
Jake Driver, Pottawattamie County
Dawn Edler, Benton County
Ryan Healy, Marion County
Travis Hosteng, Story County
Delaney Howell, Louisa County
Grant Klopfenstein, Henry County
Tyler Krug, Benton County
Matt Lansing, Dubuque County
Clara Lauritsen, Audubon County
Andrew Lauver, Calhoun County
Tanner Lawton, Greene County
Jacob Louth, Jefferson County
Grant Rathje, Douglas County
Peyton River, Jackson County
Leslie Ruby, Clarke County
Patrick Ryherd, Marshall County
Shaniel Smith, Appanoose County
Brian Tuttle, O'Brien County
Drew Weyers, Marion County

The 2018 YCLP class has also been named, and will meet for the first time in January. Participants in 2018 include:

Daweyn Albertsen, Tama County
Paul Anderson, Delaware county
Crystal Blin, Buchanan County
Robert Cumming, Monona County
Eric Franje, Mahaska County
Krista Frazee, Mills County
Ben Halvorson, Adams County
Andee Hammen, Webster/Calhoun Counties
Benjamin Hein, Jones County
Whitney Hein, Jones County
David Scott Herbold, Woodbury County
Emily Kennedy, Cass County
Zak Kennedy, Cass County
Cody Korthaus, Appanoose County
Logan Lafrenz, Cedar County
Blair Lincoln, Clayton County
Jeremy Maass, Ringgold County
Katelyn Maass, Ringgold County
Mindy Meyer, Clayton County
Katie Morey, Palo Alto County
Travis Morey, Palo Alto County
Kyle Musfeldt, Guthrie County
Tim Pansegrau, Marshall County
Kylie Peterson, Monroe County
Austin Sorensen, Taylor County
Brooke Stowater, Cherokee County
Cody Stowater, Cherokee County
Dakota Sullivan, Madison County
Sean Robinson, Sioux County
Adam Ryan, Delaware County
Sydney Weis, Union County
Shayne Wiese, Carroll County
Brent Winter, Winnebago County


About the Iowa Cattlemen's Association: The Iowa Cattlemen’s Association represents nearly 10,000 beef-producing families and associated companies dedicated to the future of Iowa’s beef industry. ICA’s mission is “Grow Iowa’s beef business through advocacy, leadership and education.”