Date: 12/30/2013 12:00:00 AM

Title: ICA has leadership continuity as it heads into New Year

The leadership of the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association will have strong continuity as 2014 begins. Ed Greiman, Garner, and Phil Reemtsma, DeWitt, were re-elected to serve second terms as President and President-Elect respectively during ICA’s annual meeting in December. Greiman, 44, is involved with both a feedyard and cow-calf operation, and has served on the ICA Board of Directors since December 2009. Reemtsma has been a member of the board since December 2006. He feeds cattle and is a large animal veterinarian.

Newly elected to the ICA Executive Committee is Sparky Wellman, Bonaparte. She was elected as the Southeast Regional Vice President earlier this fall. Wellman was the District 20 (southeast Iowa) Director since 2007. She replaces Tom Bonnichsen, Letts, on the executive committee. Bonnichsen was in the position on an interim basis.

Also re-elected to the ICA Executive Committee was Brent Henningsen, Ames. Henningsen is a senior territory manager for Zoetis, and serves as ICA Associate Vice President. Other members of ICA’s Executive Committee are Al Johnson, Northwood, Northwest Regional Vice President; Larry Johnson, Maquoketa, Northeast Regional Vice President re-elected this past summer by his region; and David Trowbridge, Tabor, Southwest Regional Vice President.

Other board members were elected at district meetings held in the fall, prior to the annual meeting. Results for the district elections, with indications of re-election and newly elected directors and alternate directors follow. They began serving at the conclusion of the 2013 ICA Annual Meeting, which was held during the Iowa Cattle Industry Convention in Altoona, Dec. 9-11.

•    District 2, Richard Nelson, Emmetsburg, re-elected as director; Gerry Eckelberg, Dolliver, alternate.
•    District 5, Bob Noble, Riceville, newly elected as director since the term for Mike Codner, Bristow, had expired; Jeff Codner, Dumont, alternate.
•    District 8, Tom Hiler, Rockwell City, re-elected; Nick Albright, Lytton, alternate.
•    District 11, Dave Rueber, Luxemburg, re-elected; Jason Kurt, Cascade, alternate.
•    District 14, Brian Wilson, Monroe, re-elected; Mike Nolin, Monroe, alternate.
•    District 17, Dick Godfrey, Henderson, re-elected; Perry Beedle, Oakland, alternate.
•    District 20, Steven Kisling, Keosauqua, newly elected as director since the term for Sparky Wellman had expired; Thom Miller, Winfield, alternate.

The positions of ICA president, president-elect, and associate vice president are all one-year terms. Those serving in the positions can serve a maximum of two terms. Regional vice presidents serve two-year terms, and may serve a maximum of three terms. District directors and alternates are three-year terms, and they may serve a maximum of two terms in each position.